Where are Jacksonville's historic districts?

Posted by Donny Mak on Sunday, October 27th, 2019 at 10:56am.


Historic brick home in Avondale Jacksonville

Whether you're thinking about a move to Jacksonville or have lived here your whole life, you'll want to understand the intricacies of our historic neighborhoods. Jacksonville's urban core neighborhoods can be locally designated historic districts, districts on the National Register of Historic Places, both, or neither. Sound confusing? Keep reading to understand what each category means. 

Locally Designated Historic Districts: Riverside, Avondale, Springfield, and the St. Johns Quarter are all locally designated historic districts. Any exterior work requires an approved Certificate of Appropriateness (COA) application through the City of Jacksonville. (The neighborhood organizations RAP and SPAR do not process COA applications.) Learn more about the COA process.

National Register of Historic Places: The National Register designation is an honorary one, and does not regulate changes made to properties in historic districts (with the exception of demolitions, which must be reviewed by the Jacksonville Historic Preservation Commission). Riverside, Avondale, Riverside Annex, Springfield, and parts of Ortega are on the National Register.

Neighborhoods that don’t fall into either category: Neither Murray Hill or San Marco are designated locally or nationally. If a specific property was on the National Register (for historical or architectural reasons), then the above rules would apply for demolition. 


At Bloom Realty, our top agents and support staff live, work, and play in Jacksonville's historic neighborhoods. And with most of the team having gone through the renovation process themselves, we have the experience you're looking for. Send us a message or call 904.701.0096 and let us know how we can help you!

Leave a Comment

Format example: you@domain.com
Format example: yourwebsitename.com

Sign up for email updates